double the fun!

today i am excited to have not one, but two projects to share…one paper craft, and one fabric craft…i have a new “toy” per say, and a new pattern so that means LOTS of motivation!

sunday night, while brian was busy playing video games, i was busy in the craft room.

first, i armed myself with the right ammunition…coke and cookie dough! (don’t just me, lol)

20130812-210623.jpg

then, i gathered my supplies…acrylic paints…i don’t think i have enough, haha. actually i do need some new ones because a lot where either almost empty, or starting to dry up. apple barrel are my faves (in case you couldn’t tell, lol)

20130812-210634.jpg

i also needed my brayer, tons of stencils, and my new supply:

gelli

my gelli plate! it’s a “plate” that feels like silicone or gelatin, that can be used for really easy and fun printmaking. i experimented for a long time and had a blast doing it. there is an online class i want to take that costs $25…i don’t know why i’m being cheap…probably because i’ve spent a lot of money on this staycation, and need to stop because i actually have a REAL vacation coming up very soon, lol. i made several prints, but was most pleased with these:

20130812-210640.jpg

i need to get larger stencils that’s for sure, or cut my pages down to the size of the stencils i already have. if i was able to come up with all of this on my own, i can only imagine how much more i could learn from the class. i know i will break down and purchase it sooner or later, or perhaps as for it for my birthday ;P

then lately, although i don’t really consider myself a “girly girl,” i have really been into flowers. i have two gorgeous rose of sharon bushes on either side of my garage that have finally started to bloom…

20130812-210646.jpg

and also these big, beautiful holly hocks all around the house

20130812-210651.jpg

thanks to my new flickr friend danielle, i found an outlet for my floral frenzy…the “zakka swedish bloom.” you can also visit her blog here.

here is my first of 9 blocks. although the center of my flower isn’t exactly perfect, i am still in love!

20130812-210657.jpg

i’m also very happy with the vintagey fabrics i was able to find. look how lovely they are! soooo cute! 😀

20130812-210707.jpg

here are some new greens i got for the leaves, although i’m not sure if they are cohesive with the first fabrics i used. what do you think?

20130812-211041.jpg

here are the two fabrics i have ready for my next flower…same vintage feel. love it!

20130812-211048.jpg

i originally wanted to go the pink and purple flowery, girly route…but i guess these fabrics/patterns spoke louder to me. oh well.  also, although the directions say to use white as the background color (as i’ve done), my friend danielle used grey, and i like the look of it. i’m not quite certain what i will do for the rest of the blocks. the finished quilt is a 3 x 3 grid…so perhaps i could do a white and grey checkerboard effect?

open for suggestions!

i’m so happy with both of these works in progress and can’t wait to keep at em.

❤ xtina

